On Apples and Education (A Voucher Post)

I have been wanting to post my opinion on the voucher issue for some time now, but every time I do, I either get inundated with work (I usually blog from work), or I get lost in how to present it. This morning, I finally came up with what I believe is a clever way to present it. So, without further ado…

As a conservative, I generally do not agree with government subsidized anything. I have a problem with government subsidies for health care; I don’t like government subsidies for food; I hate government subsidies for businesses. However, as I have researched the matter, and as it has become common place, I understand the importance that every citizen of our state have an apple every day.

I don’t like that the government has infringed on my right and basically forces me to have an apple every day. But I understand that it is for the overall good of our community. So, despite my reservations, I am generally in favor of the publicly funded apple-a-day program.

However, since the inception of the apple programs, various forces have brought about an interesting twist to the apple situation. The government now only provide golden delicious apples through these programs. While golden delicious apples will meet the requirements of the apple a day program. I personally prefer granny smith apples.

However, because I am so heavily taxed by my government to provide for apple programs, I can’t afford granny smiths from the store. So, I have had to rely on the golden delicious apples to meet my needs for an apple a day. But it would sure be nice to have a granny smith.

We have a Jonathan apple tree in our back yard, and thankfully, the state has provided us with some freedoms to provide our children home grown apples. So, although the government still taxes us for the apple program that our family doesn’t use much. We are able to have more than golden delicious apples.

There is also the issue that one of my daughters doesn’t like golden delicious apples and she really doesn’t like the home grown Jonathan apples. She actually would prefer to have Fuji apples. But again, because of heavy taxation, and the added cost of growing our own apples to meet some of our families needs. I have no option to provide my daughter with Fuji apples nor myself with granny smith apples.

However, due to some great fortune and good timing, we were offered a chance for my Fuji-loving daughter to participate in the gala apple charter program. This is a semi-private, publicly funded apple program that provides additional options to those who want gala apples instead of golden delicious. Other charter programs provide braeburn, cameo, or red delicious apples.

My daughter is enjoying the gala apple program, but she really would like to eat more Fujis. Alas, the Fuji apple charter program is full and we have little hope of getting invited to join the program. So, we will have to settle for the gala apple charter program.

However, there are still Fuji apples available at the market, and my daughter looks longingly at them as we shop. But I cannot buy them for her, because our money is too tight.

However, the government has recently announce that we can now buy any type of apple under a new voucher program. With the voucher, if we choose that golden delicious apples aren’t right for us, then we can by Fujis. But, they will not fund the full price of the Fujis. They will only cover a set amount base on our families income.

Adding up the difference between the cost of the Fujis and the golden delicious. I decide that with a little scrimping and belt tightening, I can provide my daughter with the Fuji apples that she desires. Sure it won’t be easy, but thanks to the government giving my money back to me, I am now able to buy the Fujis.

I don’t like that I have to use the government fund to provide my daughter with Fuji apples, but it is the only way that I can afford it. And since, I have already made the concession that the apple-a-day programs are important and necessary for the benefit of society. I want to get the best apple for my tax dollar. If the best are Fujis, then I want them. However, if I find out that Fujis aren’t the best for my daughter then maybe I will try braeburn, cameo, jonagold, or McIntosh. Actually, it looks like the possibilities for my children are now endless.

There is a problem with the new apple voucher program. The farmers and distributors of golden delicious apples are upset. They don’t want to lose their business. They have the trees well established, and they are prepared to continue to provide the state with their apples. But if the doors for other apple farmers and distributors are opened then they will lose the profits for their businesses.

So, they are fighting this new voucher law. They are saying that by allowing people to choose the type of apples they eat that they will miss out on the best apples. They say that some apple farmers can’t certify that their apples are good enough to meet the needs of the apple-a-day program. And that the voucher program will take money away from their farms.

While it is true that some money will be taken from the farms, and that not all farmers are certified, this isn’t an issue to me as an apple eater. What is more important to me is that I get to choose how my money is spent. I get to choose what type of apples are best for me and my family.

If I think that granny smith apples are best for me, and they are, then it is my family that will benefit. But if my consumption of granny smith proves to be gastronomically unfit, then I can easily change to Jonathan apples, I can even return to eating golden delicious apples under the original government program.

Finally, and I say this with the hopes that I don’t offend golden delicious apple farmers. But it seems to me that they have gotten sloppy over the years. I have noticed that it is harder and harder to by an apple without bruises. I even had a worm in my son’s apple the other day. Because they haven’t really had to compete, they have had a monopoly on the apple market. I feel that they have gotten lazy. That doesn’t mean that they are bad people or terrible farmer. It just means that now is a time for them to have a reality check.

As people get frustrated with the quality of golden delicious apples, they can now turn to red delicious or cameo apples for their apple needs. but if the red delicious farmers start making mistakes, then they can start eating granny smiths or whatever suits them. This will force the golden delicious apple farmers and many other apple farmers to work harder to make the best product they can. Thus we will have the best apples to choose from and there will be better education for every one.

I have another fear. I fear that by subsidizing apple sales with a voucher, that the market and farmers will see an opportunity to raise the price of their apples. You see if originally the price of a cameo apple was $3 a dozen, and $2 of that is subsidized by the government, what is to stop the farmer from charging the consumer an extra dollar. After all, they would still only be paying $2 instead of the original $3 per dozen, so they are still getting a good deal, right?

There may also be some farmers who will sell the red delicious for exactly the amount of the subsidy, let just say $2 per dozen. This will bring parent to come by their apples because it is the same price as the golden delicious (in theory). However, at $2 an apple, they can’t quite provide the same quality of apple as other farmers. So, they cut corners. Maybe the cheapen the cleaning process and they aren’t as germ free. Perhaps, they sell slightly smaller apples. Either way, there will be parents who are duped by the cut rate apples, and will ruin their children’s diets.

I also am afraid that the government may start to put too many regulation on apple farmers. Eventually, all apple farmers could be forced to offer nothing but golden delicious apples. Then we will be back to where we started from. And this this program will have done nothing, but to ruin the private apple industry.

While, I have these concerns, it is a risk that I think we should take, because I feel that it is better that parents choose what kind of apples their children will eat. This choice will force all apple farmer to produce the best product for the best price.

… Now back to reality. I think you get my analogy between apples and our children’s education. Sure it isn’t a perfect analogy, but I think that it paints a nice picture. Sure HB 148 isn’t perfect, but it is a nice start in the right direction. I will be voting yes on referendum 1, despite the fact that it goes against my conservative principle, because I believe in a hierarchy of principles. The principle that children must receive a good education is more important than the principle that government should not fund of private organizations.

One final note, you might be interested in John Stossel’s column on Utah’s school voucher debate and vote.

UPDATE:  George Will also ways on on the Utah’s Voucher Referendum. (HT: Dave Oldenburg)

5 Responses to “On Apples and Education (A Voucher Post)”

  1. Jesse Harris Says:

    I like the apple analogy much better than the Oreo one, that’s for sure.

  2. mannjj Says:

    I just think it is lame that I’m likely to end up being forced paying for worm filled apples for my neighbors who, for some strange reason, prefer that kind of thing. I am also concerned that the private apple subsidy program is likely to end up costing taxpayers lots of additional money that they otherwise wouldn’t be stuck with.

    Why adopt this program if I’m guaranteed to be paying for creepy rotten apples in some cases and paying more for apples overall than I paid before the new program?

    Jesse’s right…this is much better than the Oreo analogy.

  3. Travis Says:

    I think that while technically you may be correct that it is your money. I think that a better way of looking at it is the students money, because over the years the student will pay the money back in taxes.

  4. Tim Says:

    Definitely better than the Oreo’s…

    Problem is we are up against 138,000 very organized worms (PTA) and 17,000 very organized grubs (public school teachers). Throw in money from liberal groups all over the nation and we have a loss on our hands.

    Next thing I would like you to blog about… “Why is Public Education such a sacred cow in Utah?” I don’t get it and I would love to hear your musings.

  5. UtahTeacher Says:

    I think it’s ridiculous that voucher supporters classify anyone who doesn’t agree with their destructive agenda as stupid, brainwashed “worms” and “grubs.”

    I think the tax money is best thought of as our money. The private payer approach breaks down quickly as you start thinking about what stretch of road and which firemen you paid for. Public ed. is a common good of society in that we all benefit from educating everyone, so the taxpayer funds are dispersed as benefits to all students, not in individual chunks.

    Here is a more TRUE Oreo ad–it’s not apples, but the cookies just represent money rather than the more nuanced types of education as in your analogy:

    My blog goes much more into detail, especially into how the funding works in the nuts and bolts entries.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

