Let the Schmoozing Begin

I am a little late with this post, but things were busier yesterday. So, I am posting this now.

I have officially be selected as the State Delegate from my precinct. I said selected, because there were no votes necessary. I asked a neighbor to nominate me (and I hope I got his vote), and only one other person was nominate for State Delegate from our precinct. So, it was moved to give us the nomination without a vote (sorry, but I forget the technical speak that they use in these meetings). And I am it.

Originally, I was going to go for the County Delegate position, but Carl Wimmer has no Republican contenders. Unlike last time when there were several UEA voters in the caucus. This time there was only two or three that I recognized as being pro-UEA (him, I only have three votes against me for vice chair, interesting…).  It looks like the UEA is putting their support behind former Republican State Representative Dave Hogue.

Anyway, I am really excited about the change to select between Jason Chaffetz, David Leavitt, and Chris Cannon. (Hmmmm…. Interesting order there, doesn’t look alphabetical to me.)   While, I am leaning towards one and away from another.  I have not been sold on any of them.  I look forward to hearing from them and making my decision.  I will post about it later (I hope).

As I indicated earlier, I was also elected as the Vice-chair.  My wife graciously nominated me for the position, and after a vote of 13 to 3, I elected as the vice-chair.  It will be a fun experience, and I hope to be as involved as possible without sacrificing too much from the family.  The great thing is that the Precinct Chair has a lot of experience, so I can learn the ropes through him.  I just now need to figure out where he sits politically.  I hope we have more in common than not.

5 Responses to “Let the Schmoozing Begin”

  1. Travis Grant Says:

    Wow! Not even 15 minutes after I made this post, guess who wants to have me a friend on Facebook. Wow Rep. Cannon, thanks for reading my blog. Now prove to me that I should keep you in office.

  2. Travis Grant Says:

    I just realized from checking my caller ID, that I recieved a phone call from Jason Chaffetz at the same time that this post was made. This is perhaps a more noble effort, but he might want to consider that most people work from 9 to 5, so you might want to wait until the even.

    Man it is sooooo fun being popular.

  3. Tim Says:

    Hey. If you get any Jazz tickets from any of the candidates remember you have a friend in Rose Park that is on your side.

    Tim

  4. Travis Grant Says:

    ;). But remember my wife gets the free dinners… Note to Candidates (I believe that two of them have read this blog at least once), you cannot buy my vote.

  5. Who Should Replace Chris Cannon? « Gazelem Says:

    […] Let the Schmoozing Begin […]


Leave a comment