Change Is in the Air

In my previous post I mentioned that I wasn’t planning on blogging for several months. Well, I am breaking that because I have some pretty big news in my life. I know that I am going to get heck from some people for posting here, but I did state that I might break in with any big news, so here it is.

At the beginning of December my boss asked me to join him in the Head Manager’s Office. While worry always comes to mind in such situations, I knew that this couldn’t be anything bad. At least I hoped.

They wanted to talk to me to offer me a different position in the office.

If you have followed me on Twitter, you know that I have often complained about our IT Guy. I have often felt that I knew more about computers than he. Well, now is my time to prove it.

They asked me to spend the next few month training on the various systems, and then I will take over the bulk of the IT work. This has me a little nervous, because while I am fairly handy at computers, I have very little experience with network administration. But I am also equally excited for the chance to learn.

The few people that I have talked to about it at work (I was told not to, but some people already knew), have shown a lot of confidence in me. While that is reassuring, I hope that I don’t fail them.

This couldn’t have come at a better time. I like my job and I really like the company that I work for, but I am getting tired of the same old story every day. I have been wanting a change in my career for several months now. So, this seems to be a great fit for me.

One problem I see with this, is that it may interfere with the project that I started several months back. Honestly, while I have done some work on it. I haven’t done a lot. And now that things are changing at work, I will probably have less time to work on it. Which might mean that I will start blogging again. However, no promises. I am going to see how everything works out.

Anyway, I hope this new year is good for you, and I am sure that it will be an exciting one like this one appears to be for me.

7 Responses to “Change Is in the Air”

  1. Cameron Says:

    Congrats on the new position Travis!

  2. Ranes Says:

    How very interesting… I wasn’t feeling all that great about my job at my company and have just moved departments. But I moved out of the IT department and into another.

    Good luck!

  3. Jesse Harris Says:

    Dang. I’ve been trying to get that position at our company for two years. You gotta let me in on your secret.

  4. Travis Grant Says:

    Ranes,
    I realize that it is a pretty demanding job. So, I expect that the next year or so will be very busy.

    Jesse,
    Well, simply put, it took me about five years, and I just kept doing what I always do. Excel at the computer stuff I know, and not be afraid to learn new stuff.

  5. Reach Upward Says:

    Congratulations. I hope it works out as well for you as it has for me.

    I got sucked into the IT world by being — if you can believe it — a tax auditor that happened to do a lot of computer stuff for the department. The IT department hired me to stop me from causing the kinds of problems that lone ranger IT guys often unknowingly generate.

    I started expanding my IT knowledge on my own time, both informally and formally. I took some classes at the tech college. But finally I went back to school and got an IT degree, and then a master IT degree. I’ve jumped employers several times, always to a better situation. And after years of doing this, I’m pretty happy with it. I am so glad that I didn’t remain in my accounting/auditing career.

  6. Typingfool Says:

    Our hospital could use some smart IT guys/gals… I’m really having issues with them recently, but maybe it’s just me… LOL!

  7. lee Says:

    Hey Travis that is great! Looks like things are going well for you guys.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

