Solemn & Sagacious Sunday: The Consequences

In our last Solemn & Sagacious Sunday, we used the scriptures to establish the connections between the Law, the Creation, the Fall, and the Atonement. And perhaps as we finished this discussion you felt that it was left incomplete. At the time that I was developing these thoughts, I didn’t have any thoughts of incompleteness until I came to 2 Nephi 9.

For in verses 10-12 of 2 Nephi 9, we are presented with a terrible monster (as is the figurative speach used by Nephi). This terrible monster is death and hell. I find it interesting that these two are refered to as one. While, in our mortal minds we often refer to them as two, I feel that their connection is more than we might fully understand as men. So, I will follow the example of Nephi, and refer to them as one.

As is well known the key effects of the Fall is Death and Hell. However, I would like to justify the connection of the Fall and death and hell through 2 Nephi 9:6. Nephi explains that we suffer death and hell “because man became fallen they were cut off from the presence of the Lord.”

But how do we overcome this terrible monster. While Nephi addresses it in chapter 9, I refer back to chapter 2 verse 5 where Nephi explains, “by the temporal law they were cut off; and also, by the spiritual law they perish from that which is good, and become miserable forever.” This misery of course is the death and hell that is mention in chapter 9 verse 10. The Lord has prepared “prepareth a way for our escape from the grasp of this awful monster” (2 Nephi 9:10).

The verses in scripture are countless that could be cited to show the effects of the atonment and our return to our father and heaven, so here I will provide a list of these and allow you to read and understand on your own. Note that I focus mostly on 2 Nephi because that is where much of this study began:

Again, I could cite many more, I haven’t exhausted the list. But from this study, I have extended my map from a presentation of the understanding of the Creation, the Fall, and the Atonement, to a model of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. This model is now expanded to look like this:

I am grateful to my Father in Heaven for these new insights and understandings and I know them to be true. I testify of their truthfulness in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Leave a Reply

