Fabulous Farding Friday: GeoCaching

Before I get into this light-hearted conversation about having fun, I do want to send my condolences and heart to those suffering in the Gulf Coast states. My brother-in-law is in Mississippi, and is basically trapped on the second floor of a two-story building where he is walking in water (on the second floor). He is with the military, so I am sure that he is going to be doing a lot to help others in a worse situation than he is.

So, with all respect and concern for those who are suffering, I turn to something a little less important.


First of all, let me say that this is all Tyler‘s Fault. You see back in June he introduce his readers to GPS-less GeoCaching. And it sounded like a lot of fun.

But what was the most enticing thing about it was that I have always wanted a GPS unit. The problem was that I couldn’t come up with a good rational to buy one. However, GeoCaching was the answer. Now I had a reason to own a GPS receiver. But it wasn’t enough.

So, I started out by GeoCaching without a GPS unit. I found one that was close by work. It was actually rather difficult without the GPS unit. At first I was almost 100 yards off. However, I reread the instructions and rethought the map. And I finally found it. It was very exciting. I was ready for more.

The next day, I decided that I would try one that was close to home. This one was right by the library, and I thought that it would be easy. However, I finally had to give up on it. And I guess I just gave up on doing the whole GeoCaching thing.

However, I got a couple of bonuses at work, and I couldn’t help but spend it on something useless. So, I kept thinking GPS.

Then it hit me. The rational that would really make it worth buying. I would use the GeoCaching as part of our children’s education in homeschooling. We could go to historical caches or math oriented caches. But it would also an excellent way to introduce geography to our children.

So, I did it. I bought a GPS reciever. I was leaning towards buying a Garmin Unit. When I got to the store to buy, I was really impressed with what I say in the Magellan eXplorist 200. So, I bought it. And I am happy with it. Accept that the next unit, I want to be able to sync with my computer.

So far I have completed 12 caches. My children joined me for 3 of them. It has been a lot of fun. I look forward to the many more that I hope to find.

Leave a Reply

