Three Bad Buys (part 3 of 3)

Okay, it’s the long awaited part 3 of the bad buys drama I started last week.  Alas, I decided to take a little break from all of that.  However, I will quench your thirst for my drivel about trifles.

In order to help our move go along smoothly, we rented a storage unit to put some of our little used items (aka the stuff we are storing, but can’t convince ourselves to throw away).  We rented a 10’x6′ storage shed in West Valley, because we knew it would be close to where we lived now, and we weren’t sure where our new place would be.

So, the bill is due by the 5th of the month, and we were moving on the 3rd and 4th.  So, I figured that I would try and pay in on the 4th while I was still in West Valley, and then I could save myself on the trip.

Brilliant idea, right?  It is until you are dealing with idiots.  I get their and ask if I can pay with a debit or credit card.  “No sorry, sir, we have this new system (the new excuse of the modern era), and our card machine isn’t working yet.”

Well, strike one I can live with, and I figured I might have to stop by their later that day to drob of some more stuff.  So, I could get my check book and come back and pay her then.

However, in the chaos of the move I couldn’t locate my check book.  But I could find my debit card.  So, I used my brilliance again to make a slight detour to the bank ATM and get $20 to pay my $10 bill (I only owed for 10 days because I was vacating early).

Again however, my genius was thwarted by idiocy.  “Oh, I am sorry sir, I don’t have change for a $20.  You see, I am only give so much change and by the end of the day, I run out.”

“Well, run to the Bank!!!!”

So, two times I wasted (sort of, I did make some needed stops as part of the move) a trip to pay my bill.

It only forced me to go the next day (with exact change), to pay my bill, and to pick up a load of boxes.  Foretunately they accepted my exact change.  I was afraid that they were going to have a problem with that too.

However, the next day, I go to pick up another load of boxes, late at night, only to find out that my access number has been terminated!!!!

So, that was a definite wasted trip.  And with gas prices like they are and it being a 25-minute one way trip.  That cost a pretty penny.

They did fix it the next morning, but I had to keep my calm, and I was relieved when I was finally able to tell them that I was done with their Unit.

Oh, just in case you are curious who the idiots are you can check out Storage USA or the people who are even dumber for buying the palce out at Extra Space.

Leave a Reply

