Hwa-to

My latest obsession has been an Asian card game.

I remember seeing this game played when I served my mission in Korea.  But it was alway associated with being over 60 and being drunk.  So, I don’t think that there were many missionaries that learned to play.  I was one of those missionaries that never learned.

Well, the other day, I got an email from the lovely and famous Kim Komando.   You see she emails me on a regular basis.  In fact her emails come so often that I think I may need to get a restraining order.

What’s that?  Oh yeah, I signed up to get her emails.  Hey, a man can dream.

Anway, the email contained a link to this Japan website called Gamedesign.  And as I was playing around on some of the games and finding them most of them boring.  I noticed a link to Hanafuda.  And having an interest in all things Asian, I clicked through and started to play the game.

Unfortunately, there were no instructions and I was losing everyhand left and right.  So I did a google search hoping to find some instructions.  And as usual, Wikipedia had a great introduction and it help me so that I could win a hand or two.

So, I kept searching, and I came across a Korean version of the game called Hwa-to.  This is played with the same deck of cards but the scoring is slightly different.  So, I played that game for a while, but found that it wasn’t quite as challenging asn hanafuda.  so, that is how I have been wasting my time lately.

Leave a Reply

