National Anthem in Spanish

Okay, I have to admit that I was naive on a point.  I was originally going to argue that the National Anthem should be in the National Language.  Thinking that it was somewhere in the constitution I did a quick review of that.  And no it’s not there.

Not finding it there, I decided that there must be some law that states that the national language is English.  Again I came up wrong.

Yes, yes, I know it is hard for many of you to accept that I might be wrong, but after all, I am open-minded, and I will admit it.  So, despite the fact that many of you have just lost faith in my expertise, I must be honest with you in hopes of keeping you as a loyal reader.

However, my search did produce some interesting facts.  Most of these can be found at the U.S. Constitution Online site under the topic Official Language.

Perhaps the most intriguing fact about the constitution and English as the official language is that according to this site almost every session of congress has had a proposed amendment to the Constitution to make English the official language of the United States.  It doesn’t say why these proposals didn’t pass, but it does mention that your good friends at the ACLU are against such an amendment.

Another interesting fact is the 27 of the 50 states have individually amended there constitutions to make English the official language of their state.  I am glad to say that Utah is one of these 27, and I remember voting in favor of that constitutional amendment.

So, that said, I find it personally offensive that any one would try and publish a musical rendition of our Anthem in another language.  I have no problem translating it so others can know what it says, but to produce it for play.  That is just offensive.  What is next?  Are they going to rewrite the Pledge of Allegiance?  I can see it now.

I pledge allegiance to the flag of the Nation of Aztlan, and to the unity of brothers for which it stands, one people under God, dividing and conquering for liberty and justice for the Latino community.

Okay, I digress. But with some of the changes (see bottom of linked article) that were made to the Anthem in this translation, I don’t think I am pushing it too far.  Well, maybe just a little.

Now, I must take some time to offer my respect to the Latino Radio Stations here in the Salt Lake Valley.  According to a report on KUTV News (no direct link or web content is available) all the Spanish Radio Stations in Salt Lake choose not to play the song.  This decision has earned my respect, and if I could understand it, I would listen to your station to support it.

Let’s keep our country America.  English is our language.  English should be our official language.

Leave a Reply

