I’m All Caught Up! Whew!

Back in July I had a wonderful two week vacation of geocaching, family (the in-laws), and girls’ camp with my daughter.  However, upon my return, I found myself behind on reading my RSS reader.  I was so overwhelmed that I didn’t even bother reading most of the posts in July.  I simply hit the mark all as read button.  I hope I didn’t miss anything important.

Despite skipping many posts, I still felt overburdened.  I just didn’t feel like tackling any of the new posts to my reader in August either.  So, I let them stack up again.

With my recent move to WordPress, however, I really have had a greater desire to post a thing or two here.  But I promised myself that I would get caught up reading other’s posts first.  So, I have spent the past couple of days reading post after post, and wondering why I have 119 subscriptions in my RSS reader.  And with that, I even added some more during my reading this weekend.

Fortunately, I am now caught up.  And the good news for you is that you get to hear from me more often. (Hey, I heard that… It’s not bad news; it is good news.)

I am going to stay away from politics for a while, I honestly have my head spinning with this presidential election.  I have my favorites, and those I know I won’t vote for.  However, I still can’t seem to keep all of the candidates straight.  So, I am just going to keep my nose clear of politics for a while. Don’t worry.  I am sure that something will get me bothered enough to write about politics eventually. But for now, this is going to have a more personal flare.

Thanks to all my readers, and especially to those who have stuck with my during my recent dry spell.

7 Responses to “I’m All Caught Up! Whew!”

  1. Tim Says:

    Sorry to disappoint, but there is a voucher referendum we have to make sure passes this November. Staying away from politics will have to wait until after that.

  2. Travis Says:

    Well, I am sure my politics free period will only last a short time. John Huntsman has already irked me enough lately, that I can only handle one more “I’ll-let-that-just-pass” incident. And I will have a thought or two on vouchers, eventually.

  3. Tyler Farrer Says:

    I’m sorry, but I don’t believe you can steer clear of politics. I’m glad you’re back.

    It’s fair enough that you’re reeling from too many Presidential aspirants. I think I keep it straight by only choosing one that I think can win.

    That narrows it down from half a dozen to two, maybe three.

    (Begin shameless plug)
    Once I have that taken care of I can look at the candidate I like. For me, its Mitt Romney. He has the organization, the message, and the money. In that order. He can win against Hillary, and he’s proven to be a true conservative. (Just look at his record as governor).
    (End of shameless plug)

  4. Travis Says:

    I have never considered socialized health care as being anything near a true conservative. But you keep deceiving yourself. Sorry, but Mitt will only have my vote if he is the Republican nominee, and even then, I will be considering many of the third party candidates. Right now, while I still like Brownback, I am leaning slightly towards Huckabee.

  5. Tyler Farrer Says:

    The healthcare program in Massachusetts is run by the private sector, not the government. Where is the socialized medicine there?

    It is, however, mandatory. Would you say that Auto insurance in this state is socialized because it is mandatory?

    Romney gave his line-item vetoes to the liberal amendments in the legislation.

    Sorry, he’s very conservative. Would you say that Gov. Huntsman is more conservative when he works in one of the reddest states in the nation?

  6. Travis Says:

    This is also part of the reason I didn’t really want to talk politics. I am just plain old tired of always being right and having to prove it to people.

    Mandatory Health Care is just as good as Socialized Health Care. Likening it to Auto Insurance is a weak comparison at best, and using Auto Insurance as a model for the project is even worse.

    The idea behind mandatory auto insurance is to protect the innocent party. It is to protect those who are injured (physically or financially) in an accident at no fault of their own. When it comes to health most people’s health problems are a fault of their own. They aren’t living a healthy lifestyle and so they need medical care. yes, there is genetics and old age that are also important factors. But there are currently systems in place to handle most of these problems.

    Another problem with comparing Health to Auto Insurance is that as time goes by cars have become safer and safer. Unfortunately, the human body doesn’t seem to get much better. It will eventually fail and all people must die.

    However, the biggest problem with mandatory health insurance is that it is a foot-in-the-door measure, that will only lead to state provided health care. You just watch and see.

    Sorry, this is not true conservativism. It is back door liberalism at it’s worst.

  7. Travis Says:

    Just one more thought. You might want to check out Frank Staheli’s post on the History of the Socialization of US Health Care.


Leave a Reply

