10-year-old Girl’s Perspective on Hillary Clinton

So, I had perhaps my first real political conversation with Miss Joe (10 years old) the other day. I wanted to post this yesterday, but I really feel like 9/11 is not a day for politics. I do the same for Independence Day, Christmas, and etc. The conversation when something like this.

On the way home from School, Miss Joe ask, “How many women have run for President?”

I respond, “I really don’t know. If you count every candidate, I would guess somewhere between 20 and 50. However, I don’t think that there were any that made it to the top two most likely candidates.”

“Oh!” was the response. And I start thinking I sure hope she knows that voting for someone solely based on gender is not really the best move.

Then she asks, “PandaMae says that if we elect Hillary Clinton then she will get rid of guns. Is that true?”

“Well, she isn’t a big fan of guns and she would try to limit our access to them.”

“If she gets rid of guns how will we have any meat to eat.”

I start to think about the various ways we could (and probably do) slaughter animals for meat without a fire arm. But I opt not to go that route, and offer instead, “Looking at the people who support her, Clinton is really not a big fan of us eating meat.”

“I don’t think I could vote for her then,” comes the reply.

Yeah! I have a Republican-minded daughter!


Note: I get that to a certain extent I may have been technically inaccurate on some of the things I explained, but I was speaking to a 10 year old, and I didn’t think I needed to burden her with all of the political mumbo-jumbo that she just won’t understand. She will figure it all out over time.