A Review of Prince Caspian

If you have followed this site for any time you know that I love the Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis.  I also eagerly anticipated the release of the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.  So, I had similar anticipation of the release of Prince Caspian.

Just like with the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, I couldn’t wait until the dollar theater to watch this one.  I am incredibly cheap, and the dollar theater is too much for me.  However,  I am willing to sacrifice for what I hope are great shows, and the Narnia series qualify.  Also, my daughter asking to watch it as a birthday present helped too.

I was tempted to reread the book, because I can’t remember which book Prince Caspian was.  Unfortunately, I didn’t make time to reread the book, and now having watched it, I regret that.  One review implied that the
movie was loosely related to the book.

However, after further study (excluding the rereading of the book), there was only one part of the movie that didn’t stick to the book.  And I will have to give that.  But I could be proven wrong.  Adamson did a great job with the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and I can’t imagine that he would make such a mistaked with this movie.

However, I was a little disconnected with this film.  It seemed that Adamson sacrifice dialog to include fight scenes.  There was one point in the movie, that I didn’t fully understand what was going on, because there was only a brief dialogg leading up to why Lucy had to go into the forest.  And I just wasn’t clear.  Sure if I had the book fresh in my mind, then I would have understood it.

The fight scenes were a little to intense for my liking.  I get that battles are rough.  I understand that war is not pretty.  But in my opinion this movie pushed the limit for me.  I would have personally given it a PG-13 rating.  Which might have kept me from watching it at all.  Maybe I was a little too sensitive because I had two (three if you count the baby) kids that this was probably a little over the top for.

When it comes to the CGI, it was better than the first.  Alsan was more realistic and he appearance didn’t bother my as much as the first Narnia movie.  However, Aslan was not in the movie as much as the first.  So, there was less chance to annoy me.  However, other aspects of the CGI didn’t seem to bother me either.  So, I would say that they got that right.

I have also heard complaints that the Christian themes were dropped in this movie.  However, that was wrong.  It was wonderfully done, and I appreciated the way it was done.  Lessons of temptation, forgiveness, repentance, and faith were wonderfully represented.  I felt inspired from this movie.  Lessons were learned by the Pevensie children as well as the audience.

I can’t find it on the Internet, but Michael Medved gave the move a 2.5 star rating.  And while I agree with him somewhat, I would probably lean to a 3 or 3.5 star rating.  It could have been a 4 to 4.5 if the battle scenes weren’t so intense.

2 Responses to “A Review of Prince Caspian”

  1. Cameron Says:

    We watched it last week as well, and I really liked it while my wife did not. It had some slow spots, and I agree on the dialogue point, but overall it was well done. The real test for me though is with the second viewing. Does it hold up the second and third time watching it? We’ll see.

  2. patrick Says:

    the makers of Prince Caspian kept to the original story surprisingly well… i heard they were going to make it into a silly pure-action flick, but thankfully this was not the case


Leave a Reply

